Work, Study, Travel and Living Abroad FacebookTransitionsAbroad.com on TwitterGoogle+Flipboard  
  Best Travel Websites Best Travel Planning and Informational Websites

Best Travel Planning and Informational Websites

CNN Travel Guide, www.cnn.com/travel. Provides travel news, destination information, as well as booking information.

Dave's Travel Corner, www.davestravelcorner.com. Website offering free travel rich content including articles, photographs, links, classifieds, message boards and much more. International destinations and a rich supply of links make this a portal as well.

The Independent Traveler is an interactive traveler's exchange and comprehensive online travel planning guide for a community of travelers who enjoy the fun of planning their own trips and the adventure of independent travel. You can access the wealth of travel resources and great bargains at www.independenttraveler.com.

For practical bargains worldwide, Johnny Jet, www.johnnyjet.com, has all the links you need to research the best deals to get where you want to go and not go broke staying there.

Lonely Planet with its Thorn Tree Forum, www.lonelyplanet.com, is perhaps the closest we see to a well-rounded portal, with its busy and useful message boards, and detailed country information.

National Geographic Traveler, www.nationalgeographic.com/traveler, includes quality writing and resources with all the slickness you would expect.

New York Times Travel section. Travel sections from the Times, the Washington Post, and the Los Angeles Times and a few other metropolitan and national newspapers have started to include far more practical travel information, along with the excellent writing you would expect. Many articles require registration.

Rick Steves, www.ricksteves.com . Rick Steves was the first columnist for Transitions Abroad, and we still turn to his site for the best tried and true advice on budget travel to Europe.

Rough Guides, www.roughguides.com, is a rich a travel portal, as well as excellent information on world music to boot.

Travel With a Challenge, www.travelwithachallenge.com. The mature traveler with a sense of adventure will love Transitions Abroad’s senior travel editor Alison Gardner’s website. It showcases selected alternative travel programs, as well as richly illustrated articles, links and news.

World Hum, www.worldhum.com. This highly literate travel website continues to grow, providing many enjoyable travel narratives and a long list of excellent journals and websites.

 
 
  TRANSITIONS ABROAD   BECOME A CONTRIBUTOR   TERMS AND CONDITIONS
  About Us   Submit an Article   ©Transitions Abroad 1995-2016
  Contact Us   Student Travel Writing Contest   Privacy
  Archives   Narrative Travel Writing Contest   Terms of Service
  Webzine   Expatriate and Work Abroad Writing Contest  
  Advertise    
  Add Programs